Skip to the main content

Berkman Awards

The Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard Law School has finished collecting nominations from the public for the first Berkman Awards. The awards will be presented to people or institutions that have made a significant contribution to the Internet and its impact on society over the past decade.

The primary awardee will receive $50,000, and five smaller awards will be given in specific categories such as: human rights/global advocacy; academic and intellectual leadership; pro bono work; infrastructure/communications tools; arts/culture/media; and news/information/journalism.

There are no conditions placed on how the award money must be spent.

The finalists for the awards will be determined by the nominating committee, which includes:
Tod Cohen, eBay; Laura DeBonis, Google; Tim Ehrlich, Gunderson Dettmer; John Forry, donor, Berkman Center Faculty Library; Julius Genachowski, Rock Creek Ventures; and David Hornik, August Capital.

The winners will be determined by a committee headed by Harvard Law School Dean Elena Kagan.

The gala dinner and awards presentation will be the finale of the Berkman Center's tenth anniversary celebration, Berkman@10, and mark the end of the Berkman@10 conference, a landmark event on "The Future of the Internet," in Cambridge, MA, May 15-16, 2008.

Main B@10 Page | Agenda | Contact | Gala | Berkman Awards | Registration